Our History

The National Trust for Historic Preservation developed the Main Street program through its National Main Street Center. In 1985, South Carolina joined the revitalization movement and established a statewide Main Street program. In 1986, Conway was chosen, along with 3 other cities- Aiken, Beaufort and Georgetown, as a founding program for Main Street SC, making Conway Main Street USA one of the oldest Main Street programs in the state.

A group of local citizens concerned about the economic health of Downtown Conway founded Conway Main Street, U.S.A., a non-profit organization run by a Board of Directors and a staff Executive Director. The Main Street program was a comprehensive, incremental approach to regenerating the economic vitality of downtown commercial districts, built around a community’s unique heritage and attributes. Using local resources and initiative, the Main Street program helps communities develop strategies to stimulate long-term economic growth and pride in the community center — downtown. This is done through several platforms – promotions, physical improvements and economic restructuring.

In June 2011, Conway Main Street USA stepped out from the South Carolina Main Street Program to form Conway Downtown Alive. CDA utilizes the Main Street approach to continue promoting and preserving Downtown Conway.


Conway Downtown Alive Board of Directors
President: Ryan Foultz
Vice-President: Daved Kinard
Secretary: Lisa Thompkins
William Goldfinch
Davis Inabnit
Clayton Mauldin
Travis Overton
Amanda Roof
Heather Whitley


Conway Downtown Alive Staff
Hillary Howard
Executive Director
[email protected]

Amanda Rodermond
Office Manager
[email protected]

Haylee Cooper
Events and Communications Director
[email protected]

Conway Downtown Alive Office
428 Main Street Conway, SC 29526
(843) 248 6260

Meeting Schedule

Board of Meeting and Directors

All meetings are held the third Tuesday of each month at 428 Main Street, Conway, SC 29526 at 8:00AM.
Annual Meeting of the Membership: June 19, 2018.
Please note no December meeting is held.

2018 Committee Meetings

The Board Meeting scheduled for Tuesday, September 18 at 8 AM
has been cancelled due to Hurricane Florence.

All meetings are held at 428 Main Street, Conway, SC 29526 unless otherwise indicated. All meeting dates and times are subject to change. Please confirm date and time.

Promotions Committee
November 7, 2018 @ 5PM

Design Committee
TBA as needed
November 8, 2018 @ 11AM

Organization Committee
January 28, 2019 @ 9 AM

Economic Vitality Committee
November 26, 2018 @ 4 PM
January 28, 2019 @ 4 PM

Rivertown Music & Beer Festival Committee